Review: Almost Adulting: All You Need to Know to Get It Together (Sort Of) – Arden Rose

Almost Adulting: All You Need to Know to Get It Together (Sort Of) – Arden Rose

Almost Adulting: All You Need to Know to Get It Together (Sort Of)

Title: Almost Adulting: All You Need to Know to Get It Together

Author: Arden Rose

Release Date: March 28, 2017

Publisher: HarperCollins

Format: Hardcover

Page Number: 208

Source: Scribd

For fans of Grace Helbig and Alexa Chung comes a fresh, hilarious guide to growing up your way from social media influencer and lifestyle vlogger Arden Rose.

In Almost Adulting — perfect for budding adults, failing adults, and eaters of microwave mug brownies — Arden tells you how to survive your future adulthood. Topics include:

-Making internet friends who are cool and not murderers

-Flirting with someone in a way to make them think you are cool and not a murderer

-Being in an actual relationship where you talk about your feelings in a healthy manner??? To the other person???????

-Eating enough protein

-Assembling a somewhat acceptable adult wardrobe when you have zero dollars

-Going on adventures without starting to smell

-How sex is supposed to feel, but, like, actually though

By the end of the book — a mash-up of essays, lists, and artwork — you’ll have learned not only how to dress yourself, how to travel alone, how to talk to strangers online, and how to date strangers (in PERSON!), but also how to pass as a real, functioning, appropriately socialized adult.

3 out of 5 stars


Almost Adulting by Arden Rose is just a random hodge-podge of events from Arden’s life, but random in a good way.

Arden Rose is a YouTuber who now lives in LA. She’s mastered the art of not caring what people think and being happy about what she’s doing. I think she’s admirable when it comes to how she’s living her life, but there are obviously some things I would do a little differently.

Arden reminds me of my best friend, Kaitlyn, because they’re both a little free-spirit, like having cute vintage things, have a distinct style, and are confident in who they are. I admire Arden even more because she reminds me of Kaitlyn.

I listened to this on audiobook from Scribd, and I really enjoyed hearing Arden narrate this book. It felt like she was letting you in on some secrets from her life. She is very open and honest with everything in this book.

I liked the chapter where she talked about sex and virginity. Her take on it isn’t exactly like mine, but I loved how open she was about the whole conversation. Her idea is that it’s your body, you can do what you want with it. I agree, and I love that she added that you can have sex if you want, but you don’t have to if you don’t want to. She also talked about how important it is to spread positivity when it comes to talking about bodies.

I think this is a great audiobook and I would recommend it to anyone who likes Arden. I think the next time I see this book in a store I’m going to flip through it so I can see some of the artwork, but I’m glad I could listen to Arden read it.

Also. I love the name Arden.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.